The Established Leaving Certificate


Below are the list of subjects available to Established Leaving Certificate students in St. Macartan's College.
There are three levels in the Irish exam system Higher (often referred to as Honours), Ordinary (often referred to as Pass), and Foundation. Foundation Level may only be taken in two subjects: Irish and Maths. All other subjects may be sat in only Ordinary and Higher Levels. In general, a Higher Level grade is worth 40 points more than the equivalent Ordinary Level grade (e.g. a Higher C1 is 70, an Ordinary C1 is 30). No points are awarded for a grade below D3 (below 40%).

Points allocations have been collectively agreed by the third-level institutions involved in the CAO (Central Applications Office) scheme and the sum of the points gained by a student in the Leaving Cert' determines which courses are available to him.

 Examination  Subjects:

Modern languages

  • French
  • German
  • Irish (mandatory subject for National Universities of Ireland entry; some students can receive an exemption)


  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Maths
  • Physics

Applied Sciences

  • Construction Studies
  • Technical Drawing, (now called) D.C.G.

Business Studies

  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Economics

Arts and Humanities

  • Art, Craft & Design
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Religious Education
  • Irish