Rannafast Cup Final Match Report

Danske Bank Edmund Rice Rannafast Cup final (Friday 21st November 2014):

St Macartan’s, Monaghan 1-11; St Mary’s, Magherafelt 1-6


St Macartan’s Monaghan ended a 37 year wait to collect their third ever (1947, 1977) Danske Bank Edmund Rice Rannafast Cup title at the Dub Arena.

They showed great hunger and were just that little bit sharper than their opponents, doing the scoring damage in the early periods of each half.
The Convent forward line was well shackled by the Monaghan defence and only Kevin Small managed to break them for scores.
Within 20 seconds of the throw-in Dean Brennan grabbed a goal and although St Mary’s came back immediately with a Kevin Small point, the Sem had gone into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead by the seventh minute.
St Mary’s worked hard and pegged them back to 1-3 all at the break, their goal coming in the 24th minute from centre-half back Giuseppi Lupari.
St Macartan’s however came out strongly for the second half and were quickly into their stride with points from Padraig Finnan and two from Sean Grant to go 1-6 to 1-3 ahead by the 35th minute.
This time they pressed on and by the 52nd minute were 1-10 to 1-4 ahead, two of the points coming from Dean McGuigan.
St Mary’s did hit back with a couple of points from Small, but St Macartan’s still had the final say with an injury time point from Ciaran Burns.

St Macartan’s : R McAree, K McKenna 0-1, O Campbell, C Claisse, P Meehan 0-1, R Mohan capt, L Murray, M Savage, C Burns 0-1, D Brennan 1-0, S Grant 0-2, 0-1 free, D McGuigan 0-4, 0-2 frees, P Finnan 0-1, R McAlister 0-1, A Mohan.
Subs: J Mohan for A Mohan, D McDonnell for S Grant.

St Mary’s : C Quigley, M Loughran, M Rodgers, K McWilliams, E Kelly, G Lupari 1-1, C McErlaine, T Donaghy, D Cassidy, S McErlain, C Donnelly, C Devlin, A Connolly, K Small 0-5, L Quinn capt.
Subs : C McCluskey for S Donnelly, O Lynch for A Connolly, J McCann for L Quinn.

Rannafast Cup Final

Congratulations to the whole squad on their Rannafast Cup victory on Friday, beating St Mary’s, Magherafelt 1-11 to 1-05. Every squad member put in a huge effort throughout the campaign to push each other on for a starting 15 jersey.

Congratulations also to Garrett Coyle, Conor McElvaney & Martin Corey on their excellent preparation of the squad, not just this year but over the past few years. The hard work has finally paid off!

Sem Abú!