St. Macartan’s College Mohan Family Bursary Awards 2016

St. Macartan’s College Past Pupil and Managing Director of FKM Matthew Mohan presented the annual Mohan Family Bursaries at St. Macartan’s College on Tuesday last.

FKM is one of the longest established full-service project management, construction, and property related companies in Ireland and a current co-sponsor of Co. Monaghan GAA. Matthew was accompanied at the presentation by his father Matt Senior and his brother Conor. In total ten students were awarded bursaries and the winners were accompanied at the presentation by parents, grandparents and siblings. Welcoming those present St. Macartan’s College principal Raymond McHugh outlined the background to the bursary and the manner in which the winners were chosen. He thanked the bursary sponsors the Mohan family for their loyalty and ongoing generous support for St. Macartan’s.

The principal reminded those present that the Mohan family are continuing a tradition which stretches back to the early days of St. Macartan’s College when a group of students who are joining the College for the first time were recognised for the special talents they bring to the school. In his address the principal referred to past pupil Professor Conor Ward who joined St. Macartan’s as an Entrance Prize winner in 1935 and progressed after leaving St. Macartan’s to become a world renowned pediatric cardiologist. At the age of 93,  Professor Ward was recently recognised by UCD with an honorary degree of Doctor of Science for his contribution to the world of medicine.
The GAA recipients were selected based on an application to the school and on input from Monaghan Co. Board GAA coaches. The academic award winners were selected as a result of an assessment test and a subsequent set of examination in Gaeilge, English and Mathematics.
Bursary recipients were presented with a framed certificate for their current school, a certificate for themselves and a monetary voucher.
The 2016 Academic award winners were were Oisín Murray, Urbleshanny NS Scotstown, Finn McElwain, St. Mary’s BNS Monaghan, Eoghan Flood, Edenmore NS, Arnas Bans
St. Mary’s BNS, Monaghan, Michael Nakliki St. Mary’s BNS Monaghan and

Mark McManus, St. Mary’s BNS Monaghan.

The GAA Bursary winners were

Michael Hamill – Scoil Naolm Pádraig, Corracrin and Emyvale GAA club, Louis Kelly – Edenmore NS, Dara McKenna, Leitrim N.S. and Tyholland GFC and Aaron Carey, St. Mary’s NS Clontibret and Clontibrtet GFC.

St. Macartan’s College Bursary winners with Matt Mohan Snr and Matt Mohan Jnr., Canon Shane McCaughey chairperson of St. Macartan’s Board of Management, Marion McDonald, Deputy Principal and Raymond McHugh, Principal.